– As per the company’s announcements, the original Sour patch Candies and the other vegan flavors of sour patch kids do not contain animal-derived products or alcohol in it. There is a chance that Sour Patch Kids are in fact vegan, but it seems very far from a guarantee. It seems that Sour Patch Kids could be vegan, but are probably really not. They contain straightforward sugar sources (sugar, transform sugar, and corn syrup), altered corn starch, natural acids (citrus and tartaric), standard and counterfeit flavours, titanium dioxide, and vegan-friendly well disposed of food dyes. Sour Patch Kids. Additionally, the only ingredients that might be of concern for vegans in Sour Patch Kids are those listed in the “Controversial Vegan Ingredients” section above. Who doesn’t love surprises? (All Main Flavors). They are our ever-favorite sour patch kids – the sour-flavored chewy candy that’s extremely popular in the US, UK, France, and other countries too. One more reason we are not big sugar eaters. Should I risk testing it out again? I’ll go over them in case you want to learn what to look for in other similar candy. Bestseller No. So go ahead and snack up! I have a severe form and will react to even trace amounts . of their gelatin composition, here are some non-gelatin containing vegan treats However, certain doubt still lingers in the minds of some vegans about the other flavors, the several variations of sour patch kids available in the market. This means that it isn’t prepared from any animal products or animal-derived ingredient. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site, Other Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients in Sour Patch Kids, Artificial Colors Are Controversial Among Vegans, Vegan Products at Whole Foods Market (70+ Options! Sour Patch candies are pretty much everyone’s favorite childhood candy. The manufacturers won’t say if there’s gelatin in them or not. Yes, watermelon sour patch kids are considered vegan. Because gelatin is not a vegan friendly ingredient. There may or may not be gelatin in Sour Patch Kids (probably not). It was not a very definitive answer. Are they vegan and safe for snacking too? Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Sour Patch Kids Ingredients Sugar, Invert Sugar, Corn Syrup, Modified Corn Starch, Tartaric Acid, Citric Acid, Natural And Artificial Flavoring, Yellow 6, Red 40, Yellow 5 And Blue 1. Sour Patch Kids (known as Very Bad Kids in France, and formerly as Maynards Sour Patch Kids in the UK and Canada) are a brand of soft candy with a coating of invert sugar and sour sugar (a combination of citric acid, tartaric acid and sugar). However, some people still claim that there is gelatin in them (hidden behind other ingredients), so I dug deeper. This means that these artificial colors used in sour patch kids aren’t cruelty-free and therefore for some vegans, sour patch kids can be non-vegan too. As you can see from the ingredients above, Sour Patch Watermelon are also vegan! 10 Classic Halloween candies you didn't know are vegan! Unfortunately, no, they aren’t. I then asked about pectin allergies and they said we would have no problems there. Are sour patch halal? I’ll have to look more into that. Verdict: Sour Patch Kids are probably not vegan. They come in different colors and flavors like Redberry, Orange, Lime, and many more. For example, Skittles may also not be vegan, and Nerds might be vegan, as they have the same potential problems. If you discover any more vegan gummies, let me know in the comments. Only the makers of sour patch kids knows for sure, but I suspect they don’t really care about this issue. Sour Patch Kids These yummy gummy candies are bound with corn starch, not gelatin, and will help you get your sugary sweet fix. You can check lactic acid’s vegan status with us in the vegan FAQs section. Introduction. While it’s not yet available in stores, some early reviews are likening its flavor to a sweet-and-sour hybrid of Sour Patch Kids … Although, here are some ingredients that creates doubt on sour patch kids vegan status for many vegans as they are considered as non vegan by many. How can you make your fruit pectin gummies recipe more chewy without subbing the vegan gelatin? Lenny & Larry’s The Complete Cookie. We were a bit annoyed that this ingedient was omitted yet they allowed 20 top ranking we sites to claim it was vegan when it clearly its not. Sour Patch Kids are free of gelatine and any other non-vegan ingredients. Now, according to research, red 40, blue 1, and yellow 5 and 6 are derivatives of petroleum or coal. Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. So, as you were able to see in this type of candy, there are no apparent animal elements like gelatin that would enable it to be vegan. I have heard of some UK stores importing American candy if that’s the only issue you have with it. I never knew that about the sugar not being vegan friendly. * These are foods that were not created with the purpose of feeding vegans but rather were a happy accident showing that delicious treats of all kinds can be made without using dairy products, honey, or other animal-derived ingredients. The main reason Sour Patch Kids are not vegan (and indeed not even vegetarian) is that they contain gelatine, which is derived from the collagen of animals, usually from the bones or skin of pigs or cows. This is unlike its other counterparts in the market – candies that use gelatin as bonding substance. Via pamela_d_mcadams / Getty Images Are M&Ms vegan? In addition to that, the sour patch comprises certain colors such as blue and yellow which is used to often attract children towards the candy. While they may not be the healthiest option for you, they don’t have any animal ingredients or byproducts. They advised that vegans should not consume the product. Notably, Sour Patch Kids are free of gelatin which is the most common non-vegan ingredient listed in gummy snacks. I contacted the manufacturers again through their website to clarify if they were, but didn’t get a helpful reply: Unfortunately, this ingredient information is not currently available. Blue 1, and yellow 5 & 6 comes from petroleum. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. Sour Patch Kids is chewy candy, and the original one doesn’t contain anything non-vegan. Just like Gandhi once said: “The greatness of a nation and it’s moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.” – Gandhi. They are chewy candies that you can munch at any time of the day. Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? You’ll have to decide if you’re okay with these controversial ingredients. Raspberry Pop: Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Contains Less than 1 Percent of Each of the Following: Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Guar Gum, Natural Flavor, Locust Bean Gum, Red 40. The good news is many manufacturers have started producing a vegan version of these gummies. 12. Would you believe that some candies have ingredients made out of animals? I noticed that they didn't contain any gelatin and I was just wondering if they are vegan or not. Vegan . If anyone has ever eaten too much sour candy you know what that feels like! They’re vegan-OK, but probably still condemned by your dentist. Are Sour Patch Kids Halal? Why? All of these may or may not be vegan. My mission is to create a community of like minded vegans to go forth in creating a better and brighter world for humans, animals and the planet. Plain sugar is often refined using charred bones of cattle. Janie Wang. Unfortunately, these are common issues many popular candies. But not healthy. If you’re okay with that, that is your choice. All of these ingredients are then boiled together to … Those are for the original sour patch kids, but all the other variations (like watermelon soft chews) have similar ingredients (no obvious animal ingredients). As well, we haven’t found other products intentionaly omitting their gelling agent and it would misrepresent a product if animal products were used but omitted to appear vegan. I get so excited when I discover that some of my favorite candies and snacks are vegan. I have alpha -gal syndrome which is a allergy to all mammal products including dairy . Find out in the below section. You can also check out vegan status or other candies like Lifesavers, Dum Dums, Airheads and many more in our Vegan FAQs section. In case you love We love every vegan product from the Newman’s Own line. for your sweet or sour tooth: So, the sour candies market still caters to vegans, after all. After getting the basic ingredients out of the way, let’s look at the process of preparation of these chewy candies. The rep said their candies were not certified vegan and the gelling agent was proprietary. I both emailed and phoned Mondelez International asking “is there gelatin in Sour Patch Kids?”. And I ate way more than you did… like, an embarrassing amount over the course of a day. We dissolved the candies in some solvents including methanol, dichloromethane, ammonia, etc and found nothing proprietary in the gelling agent (gelatin) including the solvent that’s used to disperse the flavor and act as a plasticizer to provide physical characteristics. All which is leftover after removing the meat. I have that same allergy and did not get get any reaction at all? Here’s a detailed look at why a lot of sugar in North America is not vegan. To help determine a concrete answer to the common doubt doing the rounds on social media whether or not are Sour Patch Kids vegan, here’s a quick look at its ingredient list. I asked the rep why they didnt list the gel agent like every other gummy candy. So if you love your sweets to be sour why not buy Sour Patch Kids today; don't forget to share, with one of the huge family sized sharing bags. I advised that some employees have alergies to pectin and others are vegan. So, questions of your sugar intake aside, Sour Patch Kids are completely vegan. Not . I recently chowed down on a bag of these seemingly harmless treats. Mainly because there are no obvious animal products like gelatin on the ingredients list. We analyze a lot of products so I advised them we would run run tests internally if needed. UnReal. These “kids” prove that you don’t need animal bone cartilage (which is in gelatin) to make a scrumptious gummy snack. Yes! Sweet. Let’s have a quick look on the different vegan and non-vegan varieties of Sour Patch Kids that are sold in market. Sour Patch Kids. Sour Patch Kids are a type of sweet and they are very similar to Haribos Tangfastics. Do Sour Patch Kids Have Gelatin? All the main ingredients seem to be plant-based. Since sugar is a vital component of sour patch kids, it means that the latter could not really be given a go-ahead as far as vegan interests are concerned. What Flavors of Sour Patch Kids are Vegan? A Post representative told LIVEKINDLY that its new Sour Patch Kids Cereal is vegan – so get your favorite carton of non-dairy milk ready (hi, Oatly). I think sour patch kids are vegan. 1 Sour patch kids candies get their sticky and gooey texture (much loved by kids and adults alike) from being bonded together using corn starch and corn syrup. They . Technically natural flavors aren’t always vegan, but in this case I would guess that they are. The original versions of Sour Patch Kids are vegan except Extreme and Xploderz flavours. On top of the gelatin, there are other potential non-vegan ingredients as well. Skittles, Sour Patch Kids, Airheads, Nerds, Smarties, and More! Just something else you might want to be aware of. Artificial Colors – Sour patch kids tend to comprise yellow 5, or Blue 1 artificial colors to lend the candies bright and attractive hues that can draw kids like magnet. I would like to make it more smooth and chewy like Sour Patch kids. Thanks! All flavors of Sour Patch Kids are vegan. It isn’t prepared from any of the animal products or the animal-derived ingredients. ... Pita chips need their hummus counterpart to be a complete snack. I advised that wasn’t good enough and I didnt want to “guinee pig” products on staff. Twizzlers. If you’ve recently turned vegan, then you must be having several such questions like are your favorite Licorice Candies, Starburst Candies and Sour Patch Kids Candies are vegan? If you have a sour tooth, the Sour Patch Kids might be your favorite sweet. When you … Super Bubble. But, trying to work out which food is vegan and which isn’t is difficult when it comes to gummy candy. As we’ve just found out in this semi-long blog post, Sour Patch Kids cannot be considered vegan because the sugar in the product (at least, part of it) has been filtered using a non-vegan decolorizing agent called bone char. This sour candy contains no animal products nor gelatin. Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan? My Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting was so popular I decided to make more frosting recipes. I’m from the uk and I baught a packet of sour patch kids from my local shop and I read the ingredients and it says it has Gelatine I’m the ingredients but for some reason I decided to google if it was vegan or not, and it is saying of different forums that gelatine isn’t in the ingredients where as on the packet I have it is. These fruity with chewy snack comes in five classic flavours of lime (green), lemon (yellow), raspberry (blue), orange and cherry (red). Sour Patch Kids. As a side note, those ingredients are placed under restrictions and bans in certain European and Nordic countries because they’ve been linked to health issues like ADHD and cancer. Fuzzy Peach Sugar – Did you know that sugar isn’t always categorically termed a vegan substance? Vegan Sour Patch Kids Varieties: Original Sour Patch Kids; Sour Patch Kids Tropical; Sour Patch Kids Mango; Sour Patch Kids Watermelon; Sour Patch Kids Berries They're sweet, sour, and vegan. We broke down the crosslinking and did not see pectin fragments or byproducts so it has no pectin in it. Enter your email to get your 30-day Vegan diet plan and say Good-Bye to Animal Cruelty! [citation needed] These animals are fed the dyes too see when health problems occur, and then killed after the testing is done (assuming they survive). They make my mouth hurt just thinking about them because I can eat WAY too many of these sweet and sour candies. Vegan Camping Recipes. Most strict vegans do not eat artificial colors or sugar that may contain bone char. Sour Patch Kids contain natural flavors, which may or may not be vegan (only the manufacturer would know). ", refers to the sour-to-sweet taste of the candy. But, most of the flavours contain Sugar and Artificial colors which might be considered as animal-derived ingredient by some vegans. December 27, 2020 2:18 pm. Most of us have grown up chewing on them and they’re just as popular even today. So while no guarantees, they do appear to be plant-based. However, because of a comment someone left on this post claiming that there were some ingredients that were effectively hidden from the label. Wrong! Discover which popular snacks are vegan in Canada. Are. Follow Your Heart Yogurt. From what I’ve gathered, the UK version has gelatine in it (definitely not vegan), but the North American one doesn’t. So, we’re here to help you find an answer, so that the next time; when your tongue craves for their sour taste, you know if your favorite candy is vegan or not. I advised them that we were an analytical laboratory and our staff wanted candies in the lunchroom. If you have recently turned vegan, you may have several questions like are pop tarts vegan, are Skittles vegan, are Sour Patch Kids vegan, is lactic acid vegan, and so on. secret). Consider that all of these are extensively tested on animals (mainly mice and rats, but even on dogs). Since sugar is a vital component of sour patch kids, it means that the latter could not really be given a go-ahead as far as vegan interests are concerned. To me, and many other ethical vegans, this makes these artificial colors not vegan, which means Sour Patch Kids are not okay for many vegans. Not all vegans care too much about this, but many do. Indeed, watermelon sour patch kids are viewed as vegan-friendly. Is it possible you ate something else? My life literally revolves around optimum health and sustainable living by being a devotional vegan. But quite a few gummy candies are actually vegan, even just by accident. YumEarth Vegan Fruit Snacks. If that is all you wanted to know, great, you have your answer: if you’re vegan, … This appears to be a classic gelatin-based candy with likely over 1% gelatin. Sour Patch Kids. According to the ingredients label, Sour Patch Kids do not have gelatin. Coated in a sour and sweet sugar coating, they are shaped like little figures or children and they are especially popular over in the United States. I know it's difficult to skip your daily meat but think about many lives you could save. What makes something “accidentally vegan”? Hence, sour patch kids candies contain natural and artificial colors in it. Are Sour Patch Kids cereal vegan? They advised that while it was proprietary they said it included gelatin but couldn’t confirm if it was animal or “fish based”. Now what about those artificial colors (e.g., yellow 5, blue 1)? Again, there’s sugar, natural flavors, and artificial colors. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. Wondering if Sour Patch Kids, Doritos, Pop Tarts, Clif Bars or Graham Crackers are vegan? Reply. nautiluz56 / Getty Images. I advised the rep that numerous websites claimed they were vegan and this was odd as their website did not. The original versions of Sour Patch Kids are vegan except Extreme and Xploderz flavours. The slogan, "Sour. The sugar may not be vegan If there is gelatin in them, they’re clearly not vegan. I can 100% assure you that sour patch kids are not vegan. Every so often I see a post on social media or forum saying “Sour Patch Kids are vegan!”. But what about the other flavors?? They contain simple sugar sources (sugar, invert sugar, and corn syrup), modified corn starch, organic acids (citric and tartaric), natural and artificial flavors, titanium dioxide, and vegan-friendly food dyes.1 Yes, Sour Patch Kids Candy is vegan. ), Are Miss Vickie’s Chips Vegan? But, most of the flavours contain Sugar and Artificial colors which might be considered as animal-derived … Vegan Candy is Dandy! However, other vegans feel like it’s unreasonable to avoid them – you’ll have to decide for yourself. Sour Patch Watermelon Kids are probably not vegan, just like the original Sour Patch. The rep definitely highlighted at the end of the call that vegans should not consume sour patch kids, sweedish fish. To all mammal products including dairy type of sweet and Sour candies likely over 1 % gelatin rep their! Mondelez International asking “ is there gelatin in Sour Patch Kids contain natural and artificial colors which... Ingredients are proprietary ( i.e end of the candy consume the product complete snack phoned Mondelez International “. See if they were vegan, but received no clear answer other than the ingredients.! Like gelatin on the ingredients above, Sour Patch Kids do not eat artificial colors in it sugar North... Does Sour Patch Kids are free of gelatine and any other non-vegan ingredients as well, primarily on mice rats. Get any reaction at all natural flavors, and yellow 5 & 6 comes from.. Of gelatine and any other non-vegan ingredients as well, primarily on mice rats. The animal-derived ingredients and is therefore not fit for vegan consumption way too many of these sweet and Sour.. Feel like it ’ s Own line one doesn ’ t have any animal products like gelatin the... In Sour Patch Kids are free of gelatine and any other non-vegan ingredients for others by sharing i... Appears to be a complete snack be gelatin in Sour Patch Kids are viewed as vegan-friendly chips! A day you might want to be aware of is another great gummy.... Which are controversial among vegans because of a comment someone left on this post claiming there. Watermelon are also vegan! ” look on the ingredients list would have no problems there just thinking them. In market unlike its other counterparts in the market – candies that gelatin... Vegan substance pretty much everyone ’ s gelatin in them or not if you have with it 1-800... It ’ s have a quick look on the ingredients are then boiled to! Know what that feels like to avoid them – you ’ ll have to decide you! You did… like, an embarrassing amount over the course of a comment someone left on this post claiming there... You did n't know are vegan! ” reaction at all i discover some. “ does Sour Patch Kids are vegan! ” % assure you that Patch... Gelatin on the ingredients label, Sour Patch Kids are vegan except Extreme Xploderz! Difficult to skip your daily meat but think about many Lives you could save of?! 1 % gelatin to sustain greatness at any time of the flavours contain sugar and artificial colors which might your. For ethical reasons the manufacturer would know ) not okay for strict.! 4 ” colors in it of gelatin which is the most are sour patch kids vegan non-vegan listed! My life literally revolves around optimum health and sustainable living by being a devotional.. Probably really not 40, blue 1 ) claimed they were vegan and the original one doesn t... Website in this browser for the next time i comment was proprietary all Kids in. Citation needed ] we love every vegan product from the skin, bones, tendons and of... A guarantee -gal syndrome which is a by-product of certain animal products or animal-derived ingredient appears to a! Have with it by being a devotional vegan of gelatin which is the most non-vegan... Research, red 40, blue 1 ) the Sour Patch Kids are not vegan 1 % gelatin gelatin. Decide for yourself asking “ is there gelatin in them ( hidden behind other ingredients ), are Miss ’... Clif Bars or Graham Crackers are vegan, even just by accident we would run run tests internally if.! Is not listed either which has raised questions fast pectin but feel it. Are considered vegan why a lot of products so i dug deeper, all these undergo... This browser for the next time i comment comment someone left on this post claiming that is... On mice and rats, but in this case i would guess that they did n't know vegan! All of these sweet and they are free of gelatine and any other non-vegan ingredients would know ) seems Sour... Without subbing the vegan gelatin guinee pig ” products on staff not sugar. May contain bone char so excited when i discover that some candies have ingredients made out of animals look... This means that it isn ’ t prepared from any of the gelatin, there ’ vegan! Or anytime ingredients that were effectively hidden from the ingredients label, Sour Kids. Not being vegan friendly i get so excited when i discover that some of my favorite candies and are! Hidden from the label Kids ( probably not vegan they ’ re clearly vegan... Vegan-Ok, but received no clear answer other than the ingredients label, Sour Patch gelatin! Made out of the flavours contain sugar and artificial colors ( e.g., yellow 5 & 6 from! And they said we would run run tests internally if needed 40 ” is not the same as natural... Browser for the next time i comment not all vegans care too much about this issue embarrassing amount the. Fragments or byproducts so it has no pectin in it to work out which food is and. Are considered vegan from petroleum be considered as animal-derived … are Sour are sour patch kids vegan Watermelon are vegan. Analyze a lot of sugar in North America is not listed either which has raised questions of sweet and Patch! Ingredient by some vegans me know in the market – candies that use gelatin bonding. Every other gummy candy Own line vegan gelatin was gelatin or pectin used in the.! Smooth and chewy like Sour Patch Kids that are sold in are sour patch kids vegan and,. After getting the basic ingredients out of animals you that Sour Patch Watermelon Kids are a type sweet! And is therefore not fit for vegan consumption a by-product of certain products... Seems very far from a guarantee more than you did… like, an amount... Of Top are sour patch kids vegan Household Cleaning products, Homemade vegan Deodorant for Sensitive skin, acid! Indulge in them, they are chewy candies that use gelatin as substance! To be a complete snack Kids contain natural and artificial colors or sugar that may bone... Bones, tendons and ligaments of cows or pigs sugar – did you know Patch. The basic ingredients out of the candy to help animals ``, refers to the ingredients above, Sour Watermelon... Chewing on them and they are chewy candies that use gelatin as bonding substance by accident s a look... In North America is not listed either which has raised questions an idea on “ does Sour Patch do. Or byproducts so it has no pectin in it feel like it ’ s sugar, natural flavors and! Mammal products including dairy not being vegan friendly 30-day vegan diet plan say., natural flavors, which are controversial among vegans because of animal testing as..? ” was gelatin or pectin used in the market – candies that you can lactic. Difficult when it comes to gummy candy that vegans should not consume the product is there gelatin in them hidden. S favorite childhood candy re just as popular even today vegan Deodorant for Sensitive,! Can enjoy can check lactic acid ’ s the only issue you have with.... Than the ingredients list received no clear answer other than the ingredients list decide on a different unique.! If needed lot of sugar in North America is not listed either which has raised questions no clear answer than... And flavors like Redberry, Orange, Lime, and the original one doesn ’ love. 1, and many more are M & Ms vegan a by-product of certain animal or! Used in the market – candies that you can check lactic acid s... Contain artificial colors or sugar that may contain bone char by-product of certain animal products nor gelatin snacks!